Andy Bull is the Winner of the 2018 Roger Léron Award

The 4th edition of the Roger Léron Award was concluded yesterday, the 10th October 2018, with the Ceremony at the Palais des Académies in Brussels and the announcement of Andy Bull as winner.

Andy Bull is the Winner of the 2018 Roger Léron Award

Andy Bull spent 30 years in Welsh Local Government and developed many projects on climate change mitigation and sustainable development over the years. He was responsible for the creation of Mid Wales Energy Agency and also worked for Severn Wye Energy Agency. He has been semi-retired for the last three years having been persuaded to be part of the UK team on Biogas Action.

The Ceremony also acknowledged Gérard Savatier’s and José Rámon Perán’s contributions to sustainable energy, who are tied at the second place. Gérard Savatier was one of the founders and the director of ASDER for 26 years, the Savoy association for the development of renewable energies. He also chaired the presidency of CLER, the French national network for renewable energy sources. Mr Savatier invited everyone to reduce their energy consumption through a powerful message inspired by French writer Paul Bourget: “One must live the way one thinks or end up thinking the way one has lived”. 

Pr. José Rámon Perán González managed the Department of Systems Engineering and Automatics at the University of Valladolid. His 30-year experience in the private sector led him to create the CARTIF Technology Centre, that is today a European reference for energy efficiency projects.The Ceremony  welcomed high-level speakers such as Michèle Rivasi, French MEP from the Environment Committee; Julije Domac, FEDARENE’s President and Director of the North-West Croatia Regional Energy Agency; and Christiane Egger, FEDARENE Vice-President for Energy Efficiency and Deputy Director or OÖ Energiesparvervand. All of them were part of the jury that helped ranking the nominees and elected Andy Bull as the #RogerLéronAward figure of the year.

To know more about the three finalists as well as the six other exceptional candidates, you can read their biographies on this page.