Mediterranean Climate Change Adaptation Awards: Apply now!

Applications for the Mediterranean Climate Change Adaptation Awards are now open. Apply by 15 April 2021!

Mediterranean Climate Change Adaptation Awards: Apply now!

Applications for the Mediterranean Climate Change Adaptation Awards are now open. The competition rewards exemplary and concrete actions to adapt to climate change in the Mediterranean. It is organised by the French Agency for ecological transition (ADEME), with the support of its Mediterranean partners the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM) and Plan Bleu. Apply by 15 April 2021!

Who can apply?

The competition is open to public stakeholders, members of the private sector and NGOs which are taking action and developing solutions to adapt the Mediterranean regions to the changing climate. It concerns the regions included within the Mediterranean bioclimatic zone, i.e. part or all of the following countries:

Albania, Algeria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Palestinian National Authority, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey.

Which actions are eligible?

  • Resilient facilities and infrastructure:

Infrastructural approaches comprising development or construction-based measures calling on engineering services to make buildings, infrastructure and public amenities more resilient to climate events. This comprises actions involving direct investments contributing to the design and/or renovation of buildings, public amenities, infrastructure and networks to adapt them to climate change.

  • Preservation of ecosystems and nature-based solutions:

Approaches that use the functions and services provided by ecosystems and that protect natural resources (water, forests, fish stocks, etc.), thus contributing to boosting the resilience of ecosystems and the large water cycle – terrestrial, aquatic and marine. This encompasses actions that support the functions of ecosystem services, upon which numerous human activities depend (agriculture, fishing, forestry, tourism, flood protection, access to water resources, etc.), by protecting, restoring and/or improving the resilience of natural resources (water).

  • Designing, implementing and monitoring public policies:

Non-structural approaches involving designing and implementing policies, procedures, planning resources, and incentives and disseminating information to reduce vulnerability. This involves actions helping, on the one hand, to improve knowledge or inform/raise awareness/encourage/change individual and collective behaviour and, on the other hand, promote changes to governance and regulatory frameworks (urban planning in particular), to prepare all stakeholders for climate change.

How can you apply?

1. Download the 3 Awards’ documents:

– The competition rules

– The call for applications

– The application form

2. Email the completed application file (in English or French) to by 15 April 2021

3. Short-listed candidates will be invited to give a presentation at a session organised by the competition jury (audio/videoconference)

4. Short-listed candidates will be invited to attend the awards ceremony, which will take place in June 2021, during ECCA (Brussels – Belgium)

More information about the Awards: