The Roger Léron Award celebrates outstanding contributions to the development of sustainable energy at the local, regional and European level. Established in 2014, the Prize established is named in memory of Roger Léron, who was a former president and founder of FEDARENE as well as a great contributor to the regional and local sustainable energy field throughout his life. Like him, FEDARENE believes that regional and local levels of governance play a central role in energy and climate issues, through their competence in many policy areas, their proximity to citizens, their thorough knowledge of the territory. In fact, innovative actions led at the local/regional level often trigger impacts at a wider level with implications that expand well beyond the initially planned areas.

Many people are working on the ground to advance the Energy Transition, whether they are a part of a local or regional energy agency, a public authority, a non-profit organisation or a private company. All of these people show the same creativity, motivation, leadership and strategic vision to scale up energy efficiency and increase the use of renewable energy sources. The Roger Léron Award was established to reward their work and recognize their achievements.

On the 26th of November 2020, Gérard Dellinger was announced as winner of the 2020 / 6th Roger Léron Award during the first virtual Ceremony of the Prize. Mr Dellinger is the former mayor of Saint-Julien-en-Quint, a rural village located in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, France, and the founder of ACROPREV, a local association for clean energy and mobility. The Ceremony also welcomed speeches from several high-level speakers, including the EU Energy Commissioner Kadri Simson.

2022 Edition of Roger Léron Award will be launched soon. Stay tuned for more information!