The Energy Efficiency Dimension of the Roger Léron Award

Discover why Energy Efficiency is a big part of our Roger Léron Award.

The Energy Efficiency Dimension of the Roger Léron Award

The Roger Léron Award aims to celebrate outstanding contributions to the development of sustainable energy at the EU, local and regional level.

The Award was established by FEDARENE in 2014. The Award is named in memory of Roger Léron who was president of FEDARENE from 1990 to 2007 and a great contributor to the regional and local sustainable energy field throughout his life.

Many people are working on the ground to advance the Energy Transition, whether they are a part of a local or regional energy agency, a public authority, a non-profit organisation or a private company. They all show the same dedication to scale up energy efficiency and increase the use of renewable energy sources. The Roger Léron Award was established to reward their work and recognise their achievements.

Four main criteria steer the evaluation process of the jury: creativity, impact, strategic vision and leadership. The actions undertaken by nominees should have yielded strong impacts on their territory. They should have strengthened their city/region as a sustainable territory by identifying opportunities and anticipating future developments.

Most personalities recognised by the Roger Léron Award are driven by realisation that increasing the use of renewable energy sources is not enough to achieve a successful energy transition. Any renewable strategy should go hand in hand with energy efficiency measures to rationalise our energy use and achieve a clean energy transition.

Fred Nodstrom, finalist of the 1st edition of the Award and founder of the Regional Energy Agency of Norrbotten (Sweden), was involved in hundreds of SME in energy efficiency projects for more than 10 years and saved millions of kWh.

Wolfgang Jilek, winner of the 2nd edition, masterminded certification for energy Performance of buildings funded by the Styrian Government. Later on, he became involved in the Concerted Action on the Energy Performance of Buildings. As Energy Commissioner of Styria, he updated the Styrian Energy Strategy continuously, pushing measures targeting efficiency, the use of renewable sources, district heating and cogeneration, infrastructure, space planning and mobility…

In 2017, Dr Ljubomir Majdandzic was designated winner of the Roger Léron Award by the jury. As the Director of the Environmental Protection and Energy Efficiency Fund, he has had considerable impact on further development of renewable energy and energy efficiency projects.

Last year’s winner Andy Bull was the first in Wales to tackle domestic energy efficiency/fuel poverty by setting up the Powys Energy Agency (latterly MWEA – Mid Wales Energy Agency) and launching ground-breaking projects such as the Warm Front project. MWEA was also the first organisation to work with energy providers, via Standards of Performance (SOP), on their commitment to reduce energy consumption in the domestic sector.

In its five years of existence, the Roger Léron Award has highlighted the work of many outstanding individuals working on energy efficiency and renewable energy sources. You will find them by visiting the webpage of the Prize.

From the 1st of April to the 31st of May 2019, you too can nominate remarkable individuals who have advanced the energy transition on their territory through their creativity, impact, strategic vision and leadership.