Here are the rules of the Roger Léron Awards contest:


FEDARENE, the European Federation of Agencies and Regions for Energy and the Environment, has been the initiator of the “Roger Léron Award” since 2015.


The aim of the Roger Léron Prize is to acknowledge creativity, a positive and proactive attitude, and the successful implementation of various projects within a very wide field of sustainable energy on a local and/or regional level. The Prize will be awarded every year to an individual for outstanding achievements in a range of areas which include, but are not limited to:

• Energy efficiency in private and public buildings and houses,
• Utilisation of renewable energy sources,
• Promotion of rational use of energy,
• Capacity building in local and regional authorities,
• Raising awareness on energy-related topics,
• Influencing public opinion on modern energy solutions,
• Learning programmes aimed at changing users’ behaviour,
• Support energy-efficient measures across different sectors,
• Promotion of clean transport etc.


Each year, the Roger Léron Prize will be awarded to the winner. The Roger Léron Prize will not be awarded if submitted nominations do not suit the requirements as prescribed in the Statutes.


In order to prevent a conflict of interest in the selection procedure, the following eligibility criteria apply:

  • Only Individual(s) are nominated, not organisations;
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted;
  • The nominator should not be employed at (or be a member of) the same organisation as nominee;
  • Members of the Roger Léron Award Jury and their family members are not eligible;
  • Jury members cannot rate candidates from their own country.

The Roger Léron Award is primarily a European Award, but occasionally it could be awarded to non-European based on their achievements within the European Economic Area (EEA) territory.

The nominee must have political, scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of sustainable energy (renewable energy and/or energy efficiency) on a local and/or regional level in the EU.


FEDARENE as an organisation strives for high-level achievement in all sustainable energy-related fields at a local and regional level. Its members’ commitment to excellence is to be reflected in a set of criteria that have to be met in order to be eligible for the Roger Léron Award.

  1. Creativity and Strategic Vision: Please assess whether the candidate has demonstrated creativity in his or her vision and actions and strategic vision for his or her territory. Creativity can refer to innovative actions, a breakthrough approach, the development and implementation of new ideas, or the capacity to overcome particularly challenging barriers. A strategic vision means both anticipating future developments and identifying potential opportunities to strengthen the city/region as a sustainable territory.
  2. Impact: Please rate the results of the candidate’s actions (in energy terms, economic development/social impacts etc.) in the region and/or beyond.
  3. Leadership: Please rate the candidate’s success in involving, motivating and inspiring others in working towards sustainable energy.


The nomination form has to be submitted online through the FEDARENE website. The electronic nomination form includes the name of the nominee, his/her current affiliation and contact information. Personal details (name, address, phone number and e-mail) of the nominator are required too.

The accompanying materials requested include:

  • a list of the nominee’s accomplishments along with a comprehensive explanation of the reasons for the nomination;
  • two letters of recommendations from experts or institutions capable of assessing the quality of the candidate’s profile in view of the aforementioned criteria (apart from the person/organisation submitting the nomination);
  • An up-to-date CV of the nominee.

The nomination online form and the 2 letters of recommendation need to be in English, but supporting documents in the attachment can be in other languages.


The Roger Léron Jury consists of 7 highly skilled experts – four members from FEDARENE, one member from EU institutions (European Commission, Committee of the Regions, or European Parliament) and two representative of the sustainable energy industry. The President of FEDARENE acts as the president of the Roger Léron Jury and is responsible for its work and decisions. The work of the Jury is done on a voluntary basis. The Jury is independent in its decisions. The decision of the jury does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the companies/organisations/institutions of which they are representatives. The meetings of the Jury are not public. ln case of equal votes, the President of the Jury will have the decisive vote.

Legal action is excluded. In particular, the Jury has no obligation to ground or explain its decision to third parties.